One last Christmas post!

I need to get these finished up before we get past Valentine’s day! For my last post on holiday sewing, I need to show off a the Christmas outfits I made for the kids this year. Since Annabelle was a flower girl this summer, we simply added a red sash and previously owned sweater to her pretty white dress for church on Christmas eve. This meant I could skip sewing the fancy dress and have fun making her something comfy to wear on Christmas day and for several other family get togethers over the holidays. I found a giant black knit Santa jumper on the 5 for a dollar rack at one of my favorite thrift stores. It had a Santa on the chest and a line of them along the the hem.
This is what I turned it into:
PC252610.jpg
Apparently we were way to busy over the holidays to bother taking a decent picture. Here you can see her showing off her style sense with those great fuzzy socks that came in her Christmas stocking. I used my favorite combo of hang out hoodie bodice with a sweatshirt neckline to make the bodice. It was the first time I made her something with a drop waist but I love the way it fit and showed off the Santas.
DSC_2087.jpg
The red sleeves and collar are from an old red t shirt of mine. Another refashion where I could skip hemming. One more picture just because I can’t resist.
DSC_2104.jpg

I was really proud of the way Emmett’s holiday shirt turned out. I made it during a frantic hour including printing the free pattern and ironing the shirt. Starting from here:
PC182432.jpg
A hand me down shirt that belonged to Emmett’s gdaddy. He was very tickled to see what I had done with his old shirt when we saw them over the holidays. Here he is modeling it with the accessories his Nana bought him for Christmas.
DSC_2095.jpg
He wasn’t sure about the hat but LOVED the bowtie!
He wore it again on Christmas eve.
DSC_2160.jpg
I found the pattern here. and used the 18 month size. I would make the shirt a little longer if I used the pattern again. It seemed short compared to other 18 month clothes. I used the existing button plackets and cuffs. The cuffs were oversized but I really loved how that looked. I also liked the way the shirt was hemmed with bias tape.
I love that it isn’t too Christmasy so I know he will get more wear out of it. But only quickly because he is growing like a weed!

Leave a Reply

