A cookie is just a cookie…

But I need a recipe for fig newtons, or fig pie, or fig cake or something. There are a few huge fig bushes here on the farm. They are overgrown with vines but despite the lack of TLC they are covered in figs

Before this the only way I had tasted figs was in a Fig Newton. Wow! I was missing out. Annabelle is obsessed. I tried to get a picture of her eating one but they would go away faster than I could focus the camera.

We have already canned four pints and froze the leftovers.

Tonight we made an awesome fig chutney that we ate over pork.

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/emeril-lagasse/fresh-fig-chutney-recipe/index.html

Thanks Emeril! Next I think we will try fruit leather in the dehydrator.  After that I am stumped!  What next?  Any ideas?

One thought on “A cookie is just a cookie…

Leave a Reply

